Au Pairing in Italy: Dear Diary #1

Caro diario,

come stai? Io sto benissimo! Allora marca il fino del mio quarto giorno ad Altamura.

How are you? I'm great!  Right now marks the end of my fourth day in Altamura.

It's ONLY been four days and it's been quite the adventure so far. I'm an au pair to a family of three kids: two six year old twin boys and an eight year old girl. The family is jam-packed busy with a robust social life, kids' activities and the parents' own business ventures. 

In the past 4 days, I've had lunch with both sets of grandparents, attended a 2 year old's bday dinner, a 100 year old's bday lunch (that I will blog about later because the lunch took 8 hours...), and built a relationship with this family that's nuts to think about.  We found each other on auParilWorld.com in august and began video chatting a few weeks later, so over the past few months we had already begun building this relationship and the hype of my arrival. By the time I arrived, the kids and I were instant BFF's.

24740058_10155627510792247_1687866753_o.jpg

I got pretty damn lucky. This family didn't want  an au pair to nanny their kids per se. They didn't want someone to look after their kids on date nights or pick them up from school. They wanted a fifth member of the family that would become the kids' older sister, the parents' friend. So far they've been so ridiculously great at helping me create my own life outside of the home. 

-on Friday they bought the house an acoustic guitar so I can write and practice while I'm here. Naturally, the kids have been obsessed with it so I've been attempting to teach them some tempo (ie letting them have fun on the guitar in a somewhat formatted way lol)

-My host dad's brother owns a photo studio and is a yogi, so Monday I'll be going into the studio to see what photo work I can do with him there, then going to his yoga class with his wife on Tuesday. 

- Monday I will meet a local organization that hosts various events for foreign students

- Thursday I might be playing a house show thanks to a new friend I met through the family

I'm only here for two months, but 2 months is a GRAND amount of time to be totally immersed in a life. 99% of the words that have come out of my mouth have been Italian. 99% of the words I've heard have been in Italian. I can only imagine where my language will be in 2 months when I leave. 

the kids hard at work on the left, the kids wrestling on my bed on the right. 

Something great I've noticed: These kids don't spend a SPECK of time in front of screens. they don't own ipads. They watch TV for 10 minutes a day. The rest of time is spent playing, drawing, playing tennis, taking dance classes, doing homework... 

The view from my room on the left, my bedroom on the right.

Below are a series of photos I took around the city's 800 year old historic center.  When walking around the 70,000 person city with the family, we run into someone they know every 10 or so minutes. It's a pretty crazy occurrence I need to get used to.